Intro to Microsoft Word


In this introductory level class, learn the basics of Microsoft Word: a word processing program that allows you to create various types of documents, letters, papers, flyers, resumes, and more.

Monday, September 17 at 6:00 p.m.
Thursday, November 1 at 2:00 p.m.
Thursday, January 3 at 2:00 p.m.
Thursday, February 7 at 2:00 p.m.

 

Intro to Microsoft Excel


Learn the basics of Microsoft Excel, a spreadsheet program designed for everyday tasks such as setting up a budget, maintaining an address list, creating and managing business transactions, and more.

Monday, October 29 at 6:00 p.m.
Monday, November 26 at 6:00 p.m.
Thursday, December 27 at 2:00 p.m.
Monday, January 28 at 6:00 p.m.

 

Photoshop Elements 2


Already familiar with Photoshop Elements and ready to move on to the next level? This class is meant for those who have already taken our introductory Photoshop class and want to further their skills.

Thursday, September 27 at 2:00 p.m.
Thursday, December 6 at 2:00 p.m.
Thursday, January 10 at 2:00 p.m.

 

Intro to Photoshop Elements


Learn the basics of Adobe Photoshop Elements. Photoshop is the industry standard tool for digital imaging, which makes Photoshop expertise a valuable skill in the workplace.

Thursday, September 13 at 2:00 p.m.
Thursday, November 8 at 2:00 p.m.
Monday, February 18 at 6:00 p.m.

 

Computer Basics


Learn the fundamentals of using a computer and gain a greater understanding of how it works. This is the perfect class for an absolute beginner with little to no experience.

Thursday, September 6 at 2:00 p.m.
Monday, October 15 at 6:00 p.m.
Thursday, November 15 at 2:00 p.m.
Thursday, February 14 at 2:00 p.m.

 

Using the Internet


Learn how to use the Internet, including opening web pages, browsing the Internet, learning about browsers, and more.

Thursday, October 11 at 2:00 p.m.
Monday, October 22 at 6:00 p.m.
Monday, December 17 at 6:00 p.m.
Monday, February 25 at 6:00 p.m.

 

Setting Up Gmail


Looking for help with your new Gmail account? Or are you still trying to figure out what all your Gmail settings mean? Do you need to set up a brand new Gmail account? Learn the introductory basics of Google’s web based email, Gmail.

Thursday, October 4 at 2:00 p.m.
Monday, November 19 at 6:00 p.m.
Thursday, December 13 at 2:00 p.m.
Monday, January 21 at 6:00 p.m.

 

Caudill Book Club


First Saturdays of the month at 10:30 a.m.
AGES: 4th through 8th grade

Join Ms. Penny as we read and discuss 2019 Illinois Rebecca Caudill Award nominated books! Donuts and juice will be provided.

October 6 – Booked by Kwame Alexander

November 3 – Moo: A Novel by Sharon Creech

December 1 – Me and Marvin Gardens by A. S. King

January 5 – Paper Things by Jennifer Jacobson

February 2 – Better Nate Than Ever by Tim Federle

 

Copies of the book to be discussed are available at the Youth Services Desk one month prior to the discussion.

 

Bluestem Book Club


Fourth Saturdays of the month at 10:30 a.m.
AGES: 3rd through 5th grade

Join Ms. Amanda as we read and discuss some of the 2019 Illinois Bluestem Award nominated books! Donuts and juice will be provided.

September 22 – What Was the Great Chicago Fire? by Janet B. Pascal

October 27 – Funny Bones: Posada and His Day of the Dead Calaveras by Duncan Tonatiuh

November 24 – Project Mulberry by Linda Sue Park

January 26 – A Handful of Stars by Cynthia Lord

February 23 – Amina’s Voice by Hena Khan

 

Copies of the book to be discussed are available at the Youth Services Desk one month prior to the discussion.

 

Illinois Bicentennial Reads


November 1—December 3
AGES: Grades K-12

In celebration of Illinois’ 200 years of statehood, children grades K-12 can stop by the Youth Services Desk to grab a READS card. Participants will learn more about Illinois and its famous residents through reading and activities. Those who complete the tasks will qualify for a drawing for a $15 Amazon gift card! Questions? Please stop by the Youth Services Desk.

 

Monday, December 3 at 6:30 p.m.
AGES: 5 years and up

Join us as we celebrate Illinois’ 200th Birthday! We will learn about Illinois’ early years, historical happenings, and some famous Illinoisans—and what party would be complete without cake and crafts!